Awarding of the OSCE with the Kaiser-Otto-Prize 2015

Kaiser-Otto-Award 2015 for the OSCE Enlarge image Serbias's Foreign Minister Ivica Dacic receives the Kaiser-Otto-Award in his capacity as OSCE's Chairman-in-Office (© / Gottschalk)

On 19 September the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe got awarded the Kaiser-Otto-Prize as part of a ceremonial act in the Magdeburg Cathedral. 

Since 2005, the Town of Magdeburg, in remembrance of Emperor Otto the Great, has paid homage to individuals and organizations, which have rendered outstanding services to the process of European unification and to the promotion of the European idea. 

The three foreign ministers who currently form the so called OSCE Troika participated at the ceremonial act in Magdeburg: The current Chairman-in-Office (CiO) and Serbian Foreign Minister Ivica Dačić, the former CiO and Swiss Foreign Minister Didier Burkhalter, and the incoming CiO German Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier. On occasion of the award presentation, German Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier gave a laudation.

This year, the OSCE got honored for its political crisis management and conflict prevention as well as its mediating role in the conflict in eastern Ukraine.

Prior to the award presentation the three Foreign Ministers met for a political exchange of views. Subsequently a joint press conference of the Troika Ministers took place. 

There, German Foreign Minister Steinmeier said: "For the first times in many months we can witness a ceasefire in eastern Ukraine which has led to a significant stabilisation of the situation. However, in consequence, not everything has become simple, especially with a view to the question of how to proceed from here." The holding of local elections, for example, would still remain a difficult task, Steinmeier added.

Yet, refering to the endeavours of the OSCE Steinmeier expressed his conviction: "Without the OSCE we would not have managed to reach the point where we are right now in Ukraine."

Full text of FM Steinmeier's speech in Magdeburg Cathedral (in German only)

Press release by the OSCE: The OSCE Troika meet prior to “Emperor-Otto Award” ceremony in Magdeburg to discuss Ukraine, preparations for the Ministerial Council

Awarding of the OSCE with the Kaiser-Otto-Prize 2015

Magdeburger Dom

The Kaiser-Otto-Prize

The Kaiser-Otto-Prize was awarded for the first time in the year 2005 in celebration of the 1200th anniversary of Magdeburg. On 7 May 2005, the obit of Otto I., the Kaiser-Otto-Foundation honored former Federal President Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker at the Emperor’s burial site in the Magdeburg Cathedral. In subsequent years prominent persons such as German Chancellor Angela Merkel und former Federal Minister Egon Bahr accepted the award.