Awarding of the OSCE with the Kaiser-Otto-Prize 2015

Kaiser-Otto-Award 2015 for the OSCE Enlarge image Serbias's Foreign Minister Ivica Dacic receives the Kaiser-Otto-Award in his capacity as OSCE's Chairman-in-Office (© photohek.net / Gottschalk)

On 19 September the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe got awarded the Kaiser-Otto-Prize as part of a ceremonial act in the Magdeburg Cathedral. 

Since 2005, the Town of Magdeburg, in remembrance of Emperor Otto the Great, has paid homage to individuals and organizations, which have rendered outstanding services to the process of European unification and to the promotion of the European idea. 

The three foreign ministers who currently form the so called OSCE Troika participated at the ceremonial act in Magdeburg: The current Chairman-in-Office (CiO) and Serbian Foreign Minister Ivica Dačić, the former CiO and Swiss Foreign Minister Didier Burkhalter, and the incoming CiO German Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier. On occasion of the award presentation, German Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier gave a laudation.

This year, the OSCE got honored for its political crisis management and conflict prevention as well as its mediating role in the conflict in eastern Ukraine.

Prior to the award presentation the three Foreign Ministers met for a political exchange of views. Subsequently a joint press conference of the Troika Ministers took place. 

There, German Foreign Minister Steinmeier said: "For the first times in many months we can witness a ceasefire in eastern Ukraine which has led to a significant stabilisation of the situation. However, in consequence, not everything has become simple, especially with a view to the question of how to proceed from here." The holding of local elections, for example, would still remain a difficult task, Steinmeier added.

Yet, refering to the endeavours of the OSCE Steinmeier expressed his conviction: "Without the OSCE we would not have managed to reach the point where we are right now in Ukraine."

Full text of FM Steinmeier's speech in Magdeburg Cathedral (in German only)

Press release by the OSCE: The OSCE Troika meet prior to “Emperor-Otto Award” ceremony in Magdeburg to discuss Ukraine, preparations for the Ministerial Council

Awarding of the OSCE with the Kaiser-Otto-Prize 2015

Magdeburger Dom

The Kaiser-Otto-Prize

The Kaiser-Otto-Prize was awarded for the first time in the year 2005 in celebration of the 1200th anniversary of Magdeburg. On 7 May 2005, the obit of Otto I., the Kaiser-Otto-Foundation honored former Federal President Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker at the Emperor’s burial site in the Magdeburg Cathedral. In subsequent years prominent persons such as German Chancellor Angela Merkel und former Federal Minister Egon Bahr accepted the award.

Verleihung des Kaiser-Otto-Preises 2015 an die OSZE

Verleihung Kaiser-Otto-Preis 2015 an die OSZE Bild vergrößern Der Aussenminister von Serbein, Ivica Dačić, empfaengt den Kaiser-Otto-Preis 2015 fuer die OSZE vom Oberbuergermeister von Magdeburg, Lutz Truemper. (© Michael Gottschalk/photothek.net)

Am 19. September wurde im Rahmen eines Festaktes im Magdeburger Dom der Kaiser-Otto-Preis an die Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa (OSZE) überreicht. 

Mit dem Kaiser-Otto-Preis würdigt die Stadt Magdeburg im Andenken an Kaiser Otto den Großen seit 2005 Persönlichkeiten und Organisationen, die sich um den europäischen Einigungsprozess und die Förderung des europäischen Gedankens verdient gemacht haben. 

An dem Festakt nahmen auch die drei Außenminister teil, die die sogenannte OSZE-Troika bilden: Der amtierende Vorsitzende und serbische Außenminister Ivica Dačić, der vorherige Vorsitzende und schweizerische Außenminister Didier Burkhalter, und der künftige Vorsitzende, der deutsche Außenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier. Außenminister Steinmeier hielt anlässlich der Preisverleihung eine Laudatio.

In diesem Jahr wurde die OSZE für ihren Beitrag zur politischen Krisenbewältigung und Konfliktprävention in Europa sowie für ihre Vermittlerrolle im Konflikt in der Ostukraine ausgezeichnet.

Vor Beginn der Preisverleihung trafen sich die drei Außenminister zu einem Gespräch. Im Mittelpunkt des Austauschs standen die Entwicklungen in der Ostukraine sowie die Arbeit der dortigen OSZE-Überwachungsmission SMM. Im Anschluss an das Gespräch fand eine gemeinsame Pressekonferenz statt. 

Dabei sagte Außenminister Steinmeier unter anderem: "Wir haben das erste Mal seit vielen Monaten einen Waffenstillstand in der Ostukraine, der zu einer deutlichen Beruhigung der Lage geführt hat. Das macht noch nicht alles
einfacher, insbesondere die Frage, wie es jetzt weitergeht." So bleibe die Durchführung der Lokalwahlen noch schwierig. 

Aber mit Blick auf die Arbeit der OSZE zeigte sich Steinmeier überzeugt: "Wir wären mit Blick auf die Ukraine nicht da, wo wir sind, ohne die OSZE".

Rede von Außenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier anlässlich der Verleihung des Kaiser-Otto-Preises an die OSZE, Dom zu Magdeburg

Pressemitteilung der OSZE anlässlich der Verleihung des Kaiser-Otto-Preises 2015 an die OSZE (en)

Verleihung des Kaiser-Otto-Preises 2015 an die OSZE

Magdeburger Dom

Der Kaiser-Otto-Preis

Der Kaiser-Otto-Preis wurde 2005 aus Anlass des 1200-jährigen Stadtjubiläums zum ersten Mal vergeben. Damals wurde am 7. Mai, dem Todestag Ottos I., die Auszeichnung der Kaiser-Otto-Stiftung an dessen Grablege im Magdeburger Dom an Altbundespräsident Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker verliehen. Zu den bisherigen Preisträger gehören seitdem unter anderem auch Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel und Bundesminister a.D. Egon Bahr.

Mehr Informationen zum Kaiser-Otto-Preis:

Website der Stadt Magdeburg